Music blasted in a frat house. The house was full of people, some dancing on the makeshift dance floor, others talking, others playing drinking games. Phoebe was on her third beer, and she was feeling its effects. She was standing with Bella and Rose, two of her classmates in one of her classes, half-listening to what they were saying, half watching Morgan, her best friend, talking to a guy sitting very close to him.
"What's wrong with you?" Rose shouted over the music, addressing Phoebe.
"Nothing,"
"Do you like that guy?" Rose asked, getting closer to her and pointing at the guy beside Morgan, "Why do you keep eyeing him as if you want to kill him?"
"N-no... I'm not!"
Bella burst out laughing at her statement, "Sure you are. Let me guess, he's the reason you came here. I was wondering why you came today of all days after you've rejected all our other invitations. Turns out, it's because of a guy. You were planning to get laid, but he is glued to that slut."
Bella finished with a sneer on her face and glared at Morgan.
"First, that's not true, and second, Morgan is not a slut. She's my friend." Phoebe shouted at them more in anger than in trying to be heard over the music.
Bella fired back, with a look of pity on her face, "Honey, I'm sorry, but your friend is going to fuck the guy you had your eyes on."
"No, she won't," she said, but her tone wasn't convincing. She had no interest in the guy; heck, she didn't even know who he was, but the thought of Morgan having sex with him sparked something in her that she didn't know how to describe.
"Yes, she is," Rose said, pointing to their left.
Phoebe followed where she was pointing, and she saw Morgan and the guy making out with no regard to the people surrounding them.
Rose and Bella laughed at the scene, which only added to Phoebe's anger. She didn't know why she was angry, but hearing the two girls laugh didn't help at all. She downed the last of her beer and left for the kitchen to get another beer.
With a fresh bottle in hand, Phoebe went to the back to find a secluded place, but everywhere she looked, it was full of people. She went upstairs and was relieved to find one room open and even more so when it seemed to be clean, as clean as a college boy's room can be. She sat down on the bed, drinking her beer, her mind replaying the image of Morgan kissing that guy.
She lamented that he's not even that good-looking. She didn't realize how much time had passed until she tried to drink from her bottle and came up empty. She threw the bottle on the carpeted floor and lay on the bed staring at the ceiling.
****
Morgan climbed the stairs leading to the bedrooms with a scowl on her face. She went from bedroom to bedroom trying to find Phoebe; she found her laying on her back in the bed, seemingly asleep, in the last one. The scowl on her face softened a bit, but not that much.
"Phoebe," she called out to her, shaking her leg, trying to wake her up.
"Five more minutes," Phoebe groaned.
"Why did you send those girls?" Morgan asked, glaring down at her friend.
Phoebe sat up with difficulty and stared at Morgan, who stood with her arms crossed. She couldn't make out the details of her face due to how dark it was in the room, but from her voice, she could discern that she was angry.
"What are you talking about?" Phoebe asked while rubbing her eyes.
"Two girls came up to me and Noah and called me a slut and a home-wrecker,"
Piecing the pieces together, Phoebe let herself fall onto the bed and groaned. "I didn't send them. Why would you think that?"
"Because," Morgan started, sitting down next to her, "They told me you sent them, and I've seen you hang out with them on campus."
"What exactly happened?"
Morgan then recounted the events: how Bella and Rose went to the couple and threw insults at them, mainly at Morgan; and at the end, when they were done, they said that it was Phoebe who sent them.
A moment of silence passed before Phoebe broke it with a question: "You think I'd say something that means to you?"
Morgan turned her head to stare at Phoebe, who returned the stare but had tears pooling in her eyes.
"No... It's just..." She laid down and hugged Phoebe. "I'm sorry."
Phoebe returned the hug, "I'm sorry too."
They stayed like that for a while, when Phoebe noticed something poking her thigh. She looked down and saw the tent in Morgan's dress. She looked up, made eye contact with Morgan, looked down again and up at her eyes again, her cheeks reddening.
When Morgan realized what she was hinting at, while her dark skin didn't show her embarrassment, the way she stood up like the bed was on fire and profusely apologized without looking at Phoebe was sign enough.
"Sorry for the girls," Phoebe said when Morgan sat down again, this time putting a bit more distance between them. "I guess they ruined your night."
The sly smile Phoebe had told Morgan what she meant.
"I made out with him, but I wasn't planning on going further than that," Morgan said, shifting to face Phoebe. "And... I didn't get the boner while making out with him."
"So after you left that guy, you found someone else?"
"No, I was too upset about what happened with those girls to find someone else."
"Then..." Phoebe didn't finish the sentence as she realized the cause of Morgan's boner.
"Sorry," Morgan muttered while playing with her hands.
"No, it's fine... Don't apologize."
Silence fell over the room as the two girls were lost in their thoughts.
"Let's have sex," Phoebe blurted out.
With wide eyes and her mouth open in shock, Morgan stared at her friend.
"Have you had sex before?" Phoebe asked.
"N-no."
At her answer, Phoebe smiled and crawled over to her, a childlike glee on her face, which in all honesty, was freaking out Morgan.